Social responsibility can be a bummer

Yesterday I went to the farmers market near my home. Social responsibility number 1, right there. I bought some of what I needed (peaches and green onions, with the green onions only $1.25 more than at the supermarket) but also came across MY FAVORITE FRUIT EVER. Wineberries.

When I was little, my parents and older sister and I would go to a you-pick blueberry farm and on the way back, we would stop somewhere along the highway. My parents would get out of the car with some buckets and pick wineberries. I never really understood why they were only available along the side of the road.

They were SEVEN DOLLARS. For less than a pint. But I bought them anyway because they were WINEBERRIES. Yum.

Anyway, social responsibility is pretty expensive.

But you know what’s even worse? I was looking online to find out about growing wineberries and I learned why they were available on the side of the road–they’re an invasive species :-(  Stupid social responsibility and not being able to grow them.

 

(More on crafting later.)

 

One Comment on “Social responsibility can be a bummer”

  1. I don’t think we have those on this coast, but we do have Himalayan blackberry, and it’s also invasive. I just found a set of canes growing in my back yard, and I’m going to pick the berries first before I remove the canes! Next month, I think.


Leave a Reply

