To frog or not to frog, that is the question

Yet again I am facing the prospect of running out of yarn before I finish my project.

Today the blame lies solely with me. (As it does always, but this is different. Sort of.) This is what happens when you are designing (*cough*) a pattern on your own and don’t do things like, well, have a clue 1. how much yarn you’re using or 2. how many stitches you have in a row. Not that the latter really matters if you haven’t measured your gauge. And why would you, if you’re knitting a shawl?

If you recall (ahem, if I’ve even told you), my shawl involves stripes: a garter ridge of huckleberry followed by 2 rows of brown in stockinette. The stripes themselves are in sets of 7, divided by a thicker patch of brown. I’m in the middle of the third set of stripes, having asked for aesthetic advice at the last knit night I went to–two sets of stripes or three? The verdict was three, so on I knit…and now I don’t think I have enough brown for what will be 12 rows (six in the stripes and then six as a patch before my edging).

AND I think that the three sets of stripes is a bit much (at least as the shawl is bunched up on the needles).

So what’s the problem?

WHAT IF I FROG AND IT TURNED OUT THAT I DID HAVE ENOUGH YARN?!?

WHAT IF I FROG AND IT WOULD HAVE LOOKED BETTER WITH ALL THREE SETS OF STRIPES?!

(And while I’m at it, what will I do with the extra brown yarn?)

One Comment on “To frog or not to frog, that is the question”

  1. If you frog you won’t know if you had enough to do 3 sets of stripes. Bwahahaha. If you don’t frog, you’ll find out that you *didn’t* have enough to do 3 sets.

    And of course, it will look best with 3 sets, but you won’t have enough yarn to do it…

    Geez I’m in a pessimistic mood! Don’t let it affect *your* knitting!


Leave a Reply

