The most wonderful time of the year

Some brief words about my October (so far):

1. I’ve worn handknits every day this week. A scarf on Monday, a poncho yesterday, a cardigan today.

2. Weather is perfect for knitting-while-walking. Not too hot to handle wool, not so cold that I need gloves. Therefore I’m making decent progress on the socks I’m working on as commuting knitting. Such beautiful yarn.

3. How do y’all knit socks so fast?

4. I’m at the point in my sweater (yay, sweater season!) where I divided for the sleeves (one piece cardigan). Yay! But the directions say “set aside and knit the sleeves.” I don’t have matching needles.

5. So tonight’s knitting will first involve moving the entire sweater so far to waste yarn and will then involve casting on to knit both sleeves at the same time.

6. I don’t want to sound stupid, but I understand two-at-a-time socks from the toe up using magic loop, but can’t visualize how I join each of the sleeves in the round doing them at the same time. (Do I cast on only half the stitches for the first sleeve, then all the stitches for the second sleeve, then the second half of the second sleeve? Help?)

7. After the sleeves are knit there is going to be some major wrangling of the various pieces with my lone circular needle.*

8. I want the sweater to be done NOW. It is looking soft and cozy.

9. I have a few things I really need to block so that I have more fall-weather-handknits to wear.

 

*Just to clarify, I have many many many circular needles. Just only one of the variety that I’m using for this sweater.

One Comment on “The most wonderful time of the year”

  1. Shari says:

    My only answer to #3 is, “itty bitty circular needles” – with my 9″ circs, I can go around-and-around-and-around-and-around and not even notice :) Plus it’s the ultimate portable project! No DPNs to lose, no magic loop to poke the commuter next to you ;) And my brain is too tired to work through what’s going on in #6.


Leave a Reply

