FOIA

If you didn’t guess from my previous post on the matter, I have a bit of a love affair with the Freedom of Information Act. (This may have something to do with my own searches for information that should be public, if only anyone knew where to find it.)

One of my tweeps recently received a response to a FOIA appeal he filed, and he posted it online. It is an important decision because it holds that ANCs (Advisory Neighborhood Commissions) are subject to DC’s FOIA. I thought this was obvious, but now it exists in writing.

Jim pointed out, and I think rightly so, that there is still a problem with charging for documents that ought to be posted online and available without a request, but this is a start.

Leave a Reply

