Phone call of the day

My office gets a lot of misdirected phone calls. We know it, we deal with it, not a problem. Usually. I’ve gotten the occasional person who refuses to accept that we aren’t the office they thought they were calling. No, sir, I’m sorry, but we’re really not the police. I promise.

Today’s call was fun. It was a young woman who sounded about 12, but who said she moved here with her fiance, so I’m assuming she’s in her early 20s.

Caller: I just moved here with my fiance and we have this problem in [state we came from] and we called them and they said [blah blah blah] call the DC courts and maybe they can help. Have you ever heard of something like this?

Me: Well, why don’t I give you the phone number for the courts.

Caller: [after I’ve given her the main number for the courts] Is there any other advice you can give me?

Me: Really not. The court in [original state] said to call the court here, so that’s really what I’d recommend you do.

Caller: But have you ever dealt with anything like this?

Me: Well, I’m not at the court, so no.

Caller: Oh.

Leave a Reply

