Commas

I love commas. I also love semi-colons, but that’s not the point of this post.

I love commas, but I have this apparently ridiculous notion that they should go where they belong and stay out of the way where they don’t. I’m doing a boatload of editing at work these days, instead of the boatload of research I was doing previously, so I’m coming across a LOT of commas.

Sentence one: “including but not limited to, x, y, or z.”

Sentence two (that is, the immediate next sentence): “may include, but are not limited to 1, 2, or 3.”

Consistency people. If you can’t be correct, can you at least be consistent?

2 Comments on “Commas”

  1. lbbartlett says:

    I will say as someone who makes comments on regs often, I don’t look for this type of consistency. I care more about the substantive text I want in the reg! But I’m probably giving unnamed agency too much credit.


Leave a Reply

